Table of Contents

Message from the Chair

It is time to celebrate the end of another school year! We celebrate our graduates who have worked hard during their time at WashU, our faculty members who helped prepare them for their chosen career paths, and our staff who supported the students' needs through their WashU experience. 

Every year, the department awards the Ralph S. Quatrano Prize to celebrate an undergraduate student's thesis work for its creativity in design, research methodology, and broader scientific implications. This year, Ethan Lowder received the award. The department also awards the Marion Smith Spector Prize to a biology major for academic excellence and outstanding achievement in research. This year, Kayla Wallace received the award. Congratulations to the winners! 

Finally, we are thrilled to share that the department is growing. We have hired five faculty members this year, including Assistant Professors Jennifer Wang and Duygu Özpolat; Professor Xuehua Zhong; Assistant Professor Liz Mallott, who was hired through the Provost's Race & Ethnicity Cluster Hire Initiative in Environmental Justice; and Lecturer Janet Goins. Goins is also the department's coordinator of undergraduate research experiences working to enhance the department's resources for undergraduate researchers--helping them find and have successful research experiences that will better prepare them for their future careers. We hope you take a minute to get to know her by reading the faculty spotlight above. 

We hope you can take a minute to update us on your personal and professional accomplishments. We also welcome you to share your memories of your time spent at Washington University. 

Connect with Biology 

Jasmine Brown, AB '18

Jasmine Brown is the author of "Twice as Hard: The Stories of Black Women Who Fought to Become Physicians, from the Civil War to the 21st Century."

Read more

Barbara Morgan Detjen, AB ’70

Barbara Morgan Detjen shares her journey from first-year biology to becoming an award-winning project manager at Pfizer.

Read more

Awards & Notables

Ursula Goodenough

Professor Emerita Ursula Goodenough was elected to the National Academy of Sciences

Read the Story

Miriam Silberman

Undergraduate Miriam Silberman was awarded the Professor Garland Allen Prize

Read the Story

Larissa Rays Wahba and Xiyun Zhang

Undergraduates Larissa Rays Wahba and Xiyun Zhang were awarded the Spector Prize

Read the Story

Follow us on Twitter

Connect with Department of Biology's twitter account for the latest from campus

View Twitter Feed
Loading Tweets