rebstock hall

Biology Undergraduate Awards

NSF GRFP, MARC uSTAR Fellowship and BioSURF awards

Congratulations to biology undergraduates Sophie Tomatz of Haswell Lab and Lauren Johnson, incoming EEPB student on the NSF GRFP Award!

The NSF GRFP recognizes and supports outstanding graduate students in NSF-supported STEM disciplines who are pursuing research-based master’s and doctoral degrees at accredited US institutions. The five-year fellowship includes three years of financial support including an annual stipend of $34,000 and a cost of education allowance of $12,000 to the institution.

Congratulations to biology undergraduates Zi’Onay Walker and Mirian Silberman, both of the Bose Lab on the MARC uSTAR fellowship!

This program builds the next generation of biomedical science leaders. MARC U-STAR trainees participate in a variety of training activities (such as seminars, workshops and meetings), conduct biomedical research in laboratories through a summer research training experience and learn about various science careers as they prepare to enter graduate school to pursue a research doctorate (Ph.D.) or combined dual degree research doctorate such as an M.D.-Ph.D. The program provides MARC students with an annual stipend plus partial undergraduate tuition and fees.

2021 BioSURF Award recipients

The Washington University Biology Summer Undergraduate Research Fellowship Program (BioSURF) introduces WashU undergraduate students to research in the life-sciences under the guidance of WashU faculty mentors. BioSURF is competitive and modeled on the grant-seeking process, with faculty from the WashU Biology Department and Medical School reviewing applications. Students gain a sophisticated and practical knowledge of the research enterprise as they enter the research environment and network within the community of scientists. Students experience the process of research as a creative intellectual activity and gain a more realistic view of the opportunities and demands of a professional research career.

Julian Abt

Emma Anisman

Irene Antony

Kyrillos Ayoub

Audrey Bochi-Layec

William Carter

Celia Chang

Alan Chen

Devon Chen

Siyu (Victoria) Chen

Ethan Cordes

Brett Deng

Dan Du

Samuel Fallon

Amanda Girardi

Miri Goodman

Akshay Govindan

Nathaniel Grabinski

Hannah Hahm

Minseo Kim

Ben Lieberman

Annie Liu

Jaclyn Liu

Michael Ly

James Ma

Rehan Mehta

Walter Navid

Elizabeth Nordmark

Kenneth Peng

Namit Sambare

Eleanor Sams

Ellie Sapiro

Daniel Schefer

Isha Sharma

Dylan Stoutenburg

Madhav Subramanian

Ishana Tata

Maya Tsingos

Medhavi Verma

Sophia Xiao

Alicia Yang

LaYow Yu

Justin Yun